Nominations open for 27th annual Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Awards

Preserve Minneapolis, AIA Minneapolis and the Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commission are seeking submissions for award nominations to recognize projects, individuals and organizations that celebrate the heritage and historic character of Minneapolis.

Categories of nomination include:

  • Historic Restoration, Rehabilitation, or Adaptive Reuse.
  • New Addition to a Historic Building.
  • New Construction within a Historic District.
  • Grassroots: Advocacy & Education.
  • The Steve Murray Award.

Projects will be judged on their careful attention to the quality of design, architecture, workmanship and materials, as well as their positive impact on surrounding neighborhoods and community. A jury of two Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Commissioners, two members of AIA Minneapolis and two board members from Preserve Minneapolis will review the nominations.

To nominate a building project, individual and/or community organization, complete the online nomination form by Friday, April 21, by 4 p.m. Nominees may self-nominate. All projects for nomination must be located in the City of Minneapolis.

The Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Awards will be presented at the 27th Annual Minneapolis Preservation Awards luncheon presentation held at International Market Square at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, May 18. The awards ceremony is open to the public and all are welcome.

To learn more about the awards, including the selection criteria, or to find a list of the 2016 Minneapolis Heritage Preservation Awards winners, visit the AIA Minneapolis website.